2023 NXR Midwest Championship Meet Guide

The 2023 Nike Cross Nationals Midwest Regional is set to take place on Sunday, November 12th at the LaVern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course in Terre Haute, Indiana. This year looks to one of the largest meets in its history with 1,519 official entries from Illinois, 883 runners from Indiana, 817 for Ohio, 280 for Missouri, and 143 from Michigan. Of these athletes several will be looking for new PRs on a perfect day for racing with a select few individuals and teams looking to qualify for the National meet in Portland, OR on Saturday, December 2nd. Check out some helpful information below regarding this year's NXR Midwest Regional Championship.

Last Year's 2022 NXR Midwest Meet Coverage
Last Year's 2022 NXN Meet Coverage

Who qualifies for Nike Cross Nationals (NXN)?
Automatic National Bids
- The top two (2) teams from each championship race
- The top five (5) individuals from each championship race who are NOT on an advancing team

At-large Bids
- Teams finishing 3rd or 4th in each championship race will be put into a pool with other teams who also placed in these positions at their respective regional. This means that there will be a pool of 18 teams with the eight regionals. The NXN expert committee will select the 4 teams it feels to be the best for nationals.
- There will be five (5) at large qualifying slots for individuals that will be selected from across all eight of the regional championship races. The NXN expert committee will select the 5 individuals it feels to be the best for nationals.

NXR Midwest Meet Schedule for Sunday, November 12th, 2023

8:00 AM       Facility & Course Opens for Athletes / Coaches / Parents
8:00 AM - 2:00PMLate Packet Pick-Up in Community Room of the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center
9:30 AMCommunity 5K Race
9:50 AMNational Anthem
10:00 AMBoys Rising Stars Race 1 (FR/SO Race)
10:30 AMBoys Rising Stars Race 2 (FR/SO Race)
11:00 AMGirls Rising Stars Race (FR/SO Race)
11:30 AMGirls Open Invitational 1
12:00 PMGirls Open Invitational 2
12:30 PMGirls Open Invitational 3
1:00 PMBoys Open Invitational 1
1:30 PMBoys Open Invitational 2
2:00 PMBoys Open Invitational 3
2:30 PMBoys Open Invitational 4
3:05 PMBoys Championship Race
3:35 PMGirls Championship Race

Who Gets Awards?
Rising Stars (FR/SO): Medals for top 3 finishers, Plaques for top 3 teams
Open Invitational: Medals for top 3 finishers, Plaques for top 3 teams, T-Shirts for top 21 finishers
Championship Race: Medals for top 3 finishers, Plaques for top 5 teams, T-Shirts for top 21 finishers

Course Map -
Best Spots to watch a race at LaVern Gibson

Address to the course:
Wabash Valley Family Sports Center
599 South Tabortown Road
Terre Haute, IN 47803

Saturday from 11 AM - 6 PM
Sunday from 8 AM - 4 PM

Boys Championship Race Box Assignments
1 Monster Island
2 Dark Horse Distance Project
3 Cadet Distance Project
4 Winnetka Athletic Club
5 Lincoln's Wolf Pack
6 Ohio Individuals*
7 Ohio Individuals*
8 Ohio Individuals*
9 Ohio Individuals*
10 Ohio Individuals*
11 Brownsburg Distance Running
13 Nomas XC Club
14 Festus XC Club
15 Columbus Thorn
16 Missouri Individuals**
17 Missouri Individuals**
18 The Heights
19 Naperville South
21 St. Louis Cross Country Club
22 Indiana Individuals***
23 Indiana Individuals***
24 Indiana Individuals***
25 Lemrac
26 The Cougar Running Club
27 Southeastern
28 Fairfield Union
29 Michigan Individuals****
30 Michigan Individuals****
31 Downers North XC Club
32 Warthan Track Club
33 Fear the Tortoise
35 Rock Run Club
36 The Tech
37 Illinois Individuals*****
38 Illinois Individuals*****
39 Illinois Individuals*****
40 Mulberry St. CC Club
41 Natural Selection
42 Irish Track Club
43 LaGrange XC
44 Olentangy Orange XC
45 Edwardsville Running Club

* Individual runners from Ohio include Marcus Adelman, Alec Adelman, Will Baker, Chance Basilone, Andrew Bugner, Noah Burgh, David D'Altorio, Jackson Davis, Michael Dellasanta, Billy Dennison, Daniel Emmert, Landen Eyre, Brock Farris, Ben Gabelman, Charles Guerrera, Eli Ing, Kasem Kaheal, Landon Kimmel, Asher Long, Lucas Melzer, Reilly Meyer, Denison Murphy, Caden Ozbun, Charles Payne, Charles Putnam, Samuel Ricchiuti, Jack Sebaugh, Ben Shields, Ryan Smith, Ryan Smith, Miciah Smith, Luke Snyder, Peter Spellacy, Wes Taylor, Michael Temple, and Elliot Zuckett

** Individual runners from Missouri include Liam Adair, Ben Chance, Keagan Enicks, Bryce Gentry, Ian Horton, Evan Stevens, Chance Tindall, Gabe Voelker, Peyton Willbanks, and Carter Younger

*** Individual runners from Indiana include Martin Barco, Noah Bontrager, Liam Brinkruff, Shane Conroy, Will Conway, Nick Cook, Jackson Gackenheimer, Joseph LaPatra, Max Malloy, Kyle Montgomery, Jackson Nolan, Aaron Richter, Gavin Rockwell, and Cameron Todd

**** I
ndividual runners from Michigan include Connell Alford, Jack Bidwell, Jasper Cane, TJ Hansen, Solomon Kwartowitz, Taye Levenson, Seth Norder, Sean Pettis, Luke Suliman, and Caleb Wesseldyk

***** Individual runners from Illinois includes Julian Baker, Aden Bandukwala, Andrew Beyer, Matthew Conroy, Greyson Ellensohn, Rory Gaan, Gavin Genisio, Grant Giblin, Mason Hart, Mitchell Hayes, Owen Horeni, Jack Jennings, Maxwell Lowe, Carson Maroon, Gabe McLain, Dylon Nalley, Evan Nosek, Michael OBrien, and Joey Yaros

Girls Championship Race Box Assignments
1 Pioneers TC
2 Iggy Pack
3 Westfield XC Club
4 Monster Island
5 Lemrac
6 Illinois Individuals*
7 Illinois Individuals*
8 Illinois Individuals*
9 The Heights
10 Prospect XC
11 Cadet Distance Project
12 Yorkville Distance
13 Dark Horse Distance Project
14 Blue Angels XC
15 North Naperville
16 Viqueens
17 Indiana Individuals**
18 Indiana Individuals**
19 Indiana Individuals**
21 SHORE Track Club
22 Davidson XC Club
23 Michigan Individuals***
24 Michigan Individuals***
25 Southside Cross Club
26 Southeastern
27 Blazers XC Club
28 Purple Track Club
29 Wildcat XC Club
30 Downers North XC Club
31 Missouri Individuals****
32 Missouri Individuals****
33 Missouri Individuals****
34 Columbus Thorn
35 The Tribe
36 Homestead TC-IN
37 Central Naperville
38 Stingers
39 Runners High
40 Ohio Individuals*****
41 Ohio Individuals*****
42 Ohio Individuals*****
43 Ohio Individuals*****
44 Berry Bolts XC
45 Peculiar Panthers

* Individual runners from Illinois include Mia Bertolini, Natalie Bierbaum, Izzy Bing, Zoe Carter, Brea Counihan, Molly Farrell, Juliana Gamboa, Lindsey Gerhardstein, Isabella Keller, Mia Kotler, Molly Mcgreal, Nicole Poglitsch, and Elena Rybak

** Individual runners from Indiana include Austin Hadessah, Callie Bentley, Libby Dowty, Mary Eubank, Maddie Graber, Ellie Hayes, Jessica Hegedus, Victoria Jackson, Kenya Leitch, Hannah Moore, Scout Newman, Maddie Rocchio, Julia Score, Peyton Smith, Nola Somers Glenn, Kaitlyn Stewart, and Sophie Wray

Individual runners from Michigan include Selma Anderson, Mallory Bigelow, Elena Figueroa, Victoria Garces, Aiden Harrand, Drew Muller, Madison Osterberg, and Gail Vaikutis

Individual runners from Missouri include Natalie Barnard, Mariah Denney, Lauren Eftink, Ellsie Estes, Jocelyn Haynes, Evyn Humphrey, Gracie Jacobs, Emery Mayfield, Reese McDevitt, Mary Mckenzie, Kayleigh Norris, and Claire Richardson

Individual runners from Ohio include Kaitlyn Carr, Brooke Chapman, Brianna Chaves-Bernal, Anna Conrad, Molly Deardorff, Ava Dickenson, Peyton Dooloukas, Leah Emch, Samantha Erbach, Natalie Fouts, Mia Fry, Rebecca Geiss, Emerson Greene, Marisa Heil, Grace Heitkamp, Eva Hensley, Mairin O'Brien, Madeline Palmisciano, Helen Randolph, Kaitlyn Reese, Caleigh Richards, Abby Roberts, Macie Roberts, Lucia Rodbro, Lauren Sattler, Daniela Scheffler, Brailey Slone, Annabelle Snyder, Brady Sterbling, Sophia Szolosi, Bentley Thomas, Kate Thormeier, Emma Unger, and Lauren Zanotelli

MileSplit will have results, interviews, and photos available after Sunday's NXR Midwest action.