Altevogt and Yoder Named Indiana Coaches of the Year

The USTFCCCA announced the 2018 High School Cross Country Coaches of the Year for each state on Wednesday January 16th and the two state champion coaches for 2018 in Indiana received the honor. 

The Carmel High School Head Boys Coach, Colin Altevogt earned the boys coach of the year title, for his teams success throughout the season, ending with another state title. This is Coach Altevogt's 3rd time being named the coach of the year, missing out on the honor in 2014 and 2016. Since becoming head coach, Altevogt has led the Greyhounds to 3 team titles and 2 runner-up titles, and has also coached 2x state champion Ben Veatch. 

The Fort Wayne Carroll Girls Coach, Phil Yoder earned the girls coach of the year title, also for his teams great success throughout the cross country season, which ended in the teams first ever state title. This is Yoder's 2nd time earning this honor, the first time being in 2016 but as the boys coach of the year. Since 2015, Yoder has led the lady chargers to 3 runner-up finishes and a state title this past season, as well as coaching Abby Green to a runner-up finish in 2016. 

Both coaches will receive a trophy from the USTFCCCA to recognize their achievement, as well as be nominated for the national coach of the year title, which will be announced later this month. Both coaches earned this honor due to their teams achievements this season as well as how their team performed based on years prior and against other top ranked teams. 

View the full list of coaches for the 2018 season here